Not only are you an excellent attorney, but a good person who truly cared about me and always did your best to help me. I am so grateful for being given a second chance.—TomDave Shrager successfully lobbied for my felony charge to be completely withdrawn. His services were worth every dime. A highly personable, intelligent, and competent attorney, I would recommend Dave Shrager to my closest friends and family without hesitation.—RonDave knows the system better than any lawyer in Pittsburgh due to his family's local and long-standing practice, and it was evident in the positive manner in which the judges, prosecutors, and law enforcement officers responded to Dave's arguments on my behalf.—JimI cannot say thank you enough to David Shrager for all his help today! If it were not for this guy, I would no longer have a job or drivers license. So thanks again Dave, you're the best!—BillI was in a bad place in my life...I was making bad decisions, which led to my having a really bad night and lots of legal trouble. I'm lucky I had Attorney David Shrager at my side. He helped guide me, with his legal expertise, through a very difficult time in my life.—Tamika
Call 412-969-2540 to Speak Directly with Attorney David Shrager 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK

Guns and Weapons in Pennsylvania – Charges, Violations & Penalties

If you have been arrested or charged with a weapon, firearm or gun violation in Pennsylvania, you face very serious penalties upon a conviction, including prison time and hefty fines. In order to fight for your freedom, it is important that you understand your rights and how to best defend them.

Begin by talking with an aggressive and experienced Pittsburgh Criminal Attorney like David J. Shrager as soon as possible – call or text for a free consultation – 412-969-2540.

At Shrager Defense Attorneys, we defend clients who have been charged with any of the following gun crimes or weapons violations:

• Possession of an Illegal Weapon
• Possession of an Unlicensed Weapon
• Use or Intended Use of a Firearm or Weapon During Criminal Activity
• Carrying a Concealed Weapon
• Assault with a Deadly Weapon
• Illegal Sale of Guns or Firearms
• Other Weapons Violations

_______________________________________________
A GUN VIOLATIONS CHARGE DOES NOT
MEAN THAT YOU WILL BE CONVICTED.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER TODAY FOR A
FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540.
________________________________________________

ILLEGAL POSSESSION OF A GUN OR FIREARM

If you have been convicted of a felony, you are prohibited from carrying a gun. You have 60 days after you have been convicted of an offense to transfer or sell your weapons. It is a felony if you are convicted of Possession of a Prohibited Firearm.

If you are under a Protection from Abuse (PFA) Order, you may also be prohibited from owning a firearm. A violation of a PFA is a first degree misdemeanor.

POSSESSION OF AN ILLEGAL OFFENSIVE WEAPON OR FIREARM

It is a misdemeanor of the first degree for a person to make repairs, sell, use, deal in or possess an illegal weapon or firearm unless you are a law enforcement officer or are otherwise licensed or permitted to carry one. A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to five years of prison time and a $10,000 fine.

An offensive weapon includes any bomb, grenade, machine gun, sawed-off shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches or firearm made specially or adapted for concealment or silencing; any blackjack, sandbag, metal knuckles, dagger, knife, razor or cutting instrument of which the blade is exposed in an automatic way by switch, push-button, spring mechanism, or otherwise; any stud gun, stun baton, Taser or other electronic or electric weapon or that could inflict serious bodily injury and which serves no common lawful purpose.

You cannot argue self-defense in an aggravated assault case if you are charged with using any of these offensive weapons.

INTENTION TO USE A FIREARM DURING CRIMINAL ACTIVITY

In Pennsylvania it is a first degree misdemeanor to intend to use a firearm or weapon (for example a switchblade knife) for a criminal activity such as a robbery or break-in. This law still applies even if the gun is not loaded and/or you never actually use your weapon. A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

CARRYING A FIREARM WITHOUT A LICENSE

While you can hide a firearm inside your home or business, it is illegal to carry a firearm inside your vehicle, leg holster or purse or any other concealed place unless you hold a valid license.

It is a third degree felony to carry a firearm without a valid license or without a specific permit to carry one. A third degree felony is punishable by up to seven years in prison and a $15,000 fine.

If you would have been eligible for a license and have a clean record, it is still a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

ILLEGAL SALE OF FIREARMS

People who sell firearms have many laws to abide by when running their business.. Not following proper procedure can have risky and detrimental consequences.

If a gun shop owner sells a weapon to a person without following the 48-hour waiting period, they will face a second degree misdemeanor. Selling a weapon to a minor is a first degree misdemeanor.

WEAPONS ON SCHOOL PROPERTY

Any gun or weapon is not allowed to be on school property. This includes both public and private elementary schools and secondary schools licensed by the Department of Education and elementary and secondary parochial schools.

Weapons include: firearms, shot guns, rifles, knives, nunchucks or any tool or instrument capable of cutting or inflicting serious bodily injury.

It is a first degree misdemeanor to violate this law, subject to up to five years of prison and a $10,000 fine.

HOW A WEAPONS VIOLATIONS ATTORNEY CAN HELP

An experienced and aggressive gun violations attorney is going to closely examine every detail of your case in order to clearly explain your options and fight for the best possible outcome. An aggressive attorney can help prove your innocence and have your charges dropped or your sentencing reduced. An attorney will investigate important factors in your case, such as whether the police had probable cause to search you and whether the gun was actually yours.

_______________________________________________
A GUN VIOLATIONS CHARGE DOES NOT
MEAN THAT YOU WILL BE CONVICTED.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER TODAY FOR A
FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540.
________________________________________________

_______________________

FREE Legal Consultation

Call or Text 412-969-2540 right now for a FREE initial legal consultation.
Speak directly with David J. Shrager 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Shrager Defense Attorneys in Pittsburgh, PA will attack your criminal charges in order to protect your good name. Have a sound and solid case prepared by David J. Shrager and his legal team so they can fight for your rights.