Not only are you an excellent attorney, but a good person who truly cared about me and always did your best to help me. I am so grateful for being given a second chance.—TomDave Shrager successfully lobbied for my felony charge to be completely withdrawn. His services were worth every dime. A highly personable, intelligent, and competent attorney, I would recommend Dave Shrager to my closest friends and family without hesitation.—RonDave knows the system better than any lawyer in Pittsburgh due to his family's local and long-standing practice, and it was evident in the positive manner in which the judges, prosecutors, and law enforcement officers responded to Dave's arguments on my behalf.—JimI cannot say thank you enough to David Shrager for all his help today! If it were not for this guy, I would no longer have a job or drivers license. So thanks again Dave, you're the best!—BillI was in a bad place in my life...I was making bad decisions, which led to my having a really bad night and lots of legal trouble. I'm lucky I had Attorney David Shrager at my side. He helped guide me, with his legal expertise, through a very difficult time in my life.—Tamika
Call 412-969-2540 to Speak Directly with Attorney David Shrager 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK

Sexual Assault / Rape Charges and Penalties in Pennsylvania

When you are accused of rape so many things can be running through your mind – mostly anger and frustration, but also fear that this accusation could potentially ruin your life.

Your freedom, your reputation, and even your basic rights are at jeopardy when it comes to rape allegations.

Pennsylvania has very tough sentencing and penalties for people who are found to be guilty of rape. Rape convicts in Pennsylvania face up to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. Not to mention, once released from prison, sex offenders are required to register with their local police department in person on a regular bases, sometimes for the rest of their lives.

This registry is publicly available and failure to register is a felony and can result in more prison time and large fines.

Many times false charges are filed in rape cases and it is very difficult to prove or disprove.

Many people who are guilty of a rape crime do not spend any time in jail. But many people who are not guilty DO spend time in jail and have their lives turned upside down in the process. This is why it is crucial to have an experienced and aggressive Pennsylvania Sex Crime Attorney on your side.

If you have been accused of rape, call David J. Shrager for a free consultation – he is here to help you understand your rights and aggressively defend them. You can text or call Attorney Shrager directly at 412-969-2540 (his personal cell phone) at anytime.

_______________________________________________

SEX ASSAULT CHARGES DO NOT MEAN THAT YOU ARE
GUILTY OR THAT YOU WILL BE CONVICTED.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER TODAY FOR A
FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540.

______________________________________________

Shrager Defense Attorneys help people who have been accused of the any of the following:

Rape – Legal Definition and Penalties in Pennsylvania

Rape is considered a first degree felony, punishable by up to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. If the complainant is a child 12 years or younger, the charge is considered child rape may be subject to harsher penalties and sentencing under child molestation laws.

Sexual intercourse can include vaginal, anal and oral sex as well as penetration by objects. A person commits rape as a first degree felony when the person engages in sexual intercourse with the complainant:

  • By force;
  • By threat of force that would prevent resistance by the accuser;
  • Who is unconscious or unaware that sexual intercourse is occurring;
  • Who has been administered drugs, intoxicants, or other means for the purpose of preventing resistance, without their knowledge, substantially impairing their power to control their conduct;
  • Who suffers from a mental disability and is incapable of consent.

__________________________________________________

SEXUAL ASSAULT CHARGES DO NOT MEAN THAT YOU ARE
GUILTY OR THAT YOU WILL BE CONVICTED.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER TODAY
FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540.
___________________________________________________

Statutory Sexual Assault – Legal Definition and Penalties in Pennsylvania

Statutory Sexual Assault could be a second degree felony or a first degree felony. A second degree felony in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine. A first degree felony in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.

A person commits statutory sexual assault of the second degree when they engage in sexual intercourse with a complainant to whom the person is not married and who is under the age of 16 years and that person is either:

  1. Four years older but less than eight years older then the complainant; or
  2. Eight years older but less than 11 years older than the complainant.

If a person is 11 years or more older, that person commits statutory sexual assault of the first degree, granted the above conditions still apply. Sexual intercourse can include vaginal, anal and oral sex as well as penetration by objects.

Sexual Assault – Legal Definition and Penalties in Pennsylvania

Sexual assault is a second degree felony. A second degree felony in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Sexual assault charges cover any sexual intercourse or deviate sexual intercourse that occurs without the victim’s consent and which is not covered by rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse charges.

The best way to understand your rights and the penalties you face is to call an experienced sex crimes attorney and get a free consultation about your case.

__________________________________________________

SEXUAL ASSAULT CHARGES DO NOT MEAN THAT YOU ARE
GUILTY OR THAT YOU WILL BE CONVICTED.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER TODAY
FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540.
__________________________________________________

Aggravated Indecent Assault – Legal Definition and Penalties in Pennsylvania

Aggravated Indecent Assault is a second degree felony, unless the person is under 13 years of age, and in that case it is a first degree felony. A second degree felony in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine. A first degree felony in Pennsylvania is punishable by up to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.

Aggravated Indecent Assault involves a person engaging in penetration, however slight, of the genitals or anus of a complainant with a part of the person’s body for any purpose other than good faith medical, hygienic or law enforcement procedures under the same stipulations as rape.

Indecent Assault – Legal Definition and Penalties in Pennsylvania

Indecent Assault charges involve allegedly causing the complainant to have indecent contact with the person or allegedly intentionally causing the complainant to come into contact with seminal fluid, urine or feces for the purpose of sexual arousal.

Indecent Assault is a first degree misdemeanor if the complainant was unconscious, mentally disabled or unable to give consent, if the complainant was under 13 years of age, or if the contact was forcible or committed by threat of force.

A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Indecent Assault is a second degree misdemeanor, unless the person is under 16 years of age and the accused is more than four years older. A second degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to two years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Indecent Assault could be a third degree felony if the victim was under 13 years of age, if it was a subsequent offense or under other conditions. A third degree felony is punishable by up to seven years in prison and a $15,000 fine.

Sex Offender Registration Requirements in Pennsylvania

There are many other liberties at stake if you are convicted of a sex crime in Pennsylvania and one of those is being required to register as a sex offender. Sex offender registration is required under Pennsylvania law and a person can be charged with a felony and sent to prison if they do not comply with the law.

These rules are more fully described under the Sexual Offender Registration and Notification Act or SORNA. 

WHY AN AGGRESSIVE SEX CRIMES ATTORNEY IS CRUCIAL

Attorney Shrager is a very compassionate criminal attorney and understands that these types of circumstances can be very personal and difficult to discuss, especially if the accuser was an acquaintance, spouse or loved one.

But if you want to protect your rights and your future, speaking with an experienced counsel who can aggressively defend your rights and fight for the charges to be dropped is a crucial first step. There are several defenses to sex crimes in PA.

Shrager Defense Attorneys will fully investigate your case from text messages to phone calls and key statement from witnesses. We will aggressively search for contradictions in the complainant’s case and for any other witnesses who may aid in providing information for your defense.

_______________________

FREE Legal Consultation

Call or Text 412-969-2540 right now for a FREE initial legal consultation.
Speak directly with Pittsburgh Attorney Shrager 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Shrager Defense Attorneys in Pittsburgh, PA will attack your criminal charges in order to protect your good name. Have a sound and solid case prepared by David J. Shrager and his legal team so they can fight for your rights.

If you have been charged with, or think you may be charged with, any of the following sexual offenses, call Attorney Shrager immediately for a free consultation: