Not only are you an excellent attorney, but a good person who truly cared about me and always did your best to help me. I am so grateful for being given a second chance.—TomDave Shrager successfully lobbied for my felony charge to be completely withdrawn. His services were worth every dime. A highly personable, intelligent, and competent attorney, I would recommend Dave Shrager to my closest friends and family without hesitation.—RonDave knows the system better than any lawyer in Pittsburgh due to his family's local and long-standing practice, and it was evident in the positive manner in which the judges, prosecutors, and law enforcement officers responded to Dave's arguments on my behalf.—JimI cannot say thank you enough to David Shrager for all his help today! If it were not for this guy, I would no longer have a job or drivers license. So thanks again Dave, you're the best!—BillI was in a bad place in my life...I was making bad decisions, which led to my having a really bad night and lots of legal trouble. I'm lucky I had Attorney David Shrager at my side. He helped guide me, with his legal expertise, through a very difficult time in my life.—Tamika
Call 412-969-2540 to Speak Directly with Attorney David Shrager 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK

MARIJUANA CHARGES IN PENNSYLVANIA – FIRST OFFENSE

What Happens When You Are Arrested for Marijuana Possession in PA?

Know Your Rights.

Although marijuana is being legalized throughout certain parts of the U.S., and medicinal marijuana is currently legal in Pennsylvania (with a prescription), an arrest for marijuana in Pennsylvania is still considered a serious offense.

Unfortunately, being charged with marijuana, even a small amount, can leave a permanent mark on your record and comes with serious penalties, fines and possible jail time.

The penalties you face, will largely depend on the quantity of marijuana you have been charged with possessing.

There have been several new ordinances to decriminalize marijuana, or cannabis, passed in a few cities like Pittsburgh and Philadelphia and State College. But this is at the police officer’s discretion – the officer can choose to charge you or to only issue a fine.

Generally, the penalty in Pittsburgh, if the police officer issues a fine, is between $25-$100. This is only for possession of 30 grams or less of cannabis and up to 8 grams of hashish.

However, in most parts of Pennsylvania, even the smallest amount of marijuana (less than 30 grams) comes with the following penalties:

  • Spending up to 30 days in jail;
  • Paying a $500 fine;
  • A misdemeanor on your criminal history;
  • and possible license suspension. 

An Arrest Does Not Necessarily Mean That You Will Be Convicted

If you were charged with marijuana in Pennsylvania, and this is your first offense, there are many things that can be done to battle the charges and not be convicted.

The important thing to do is speak to an experienced drug attorney about the charges and find out what can be done to have the charges reduced or dropped.

Attorney Shrager is available on his personal cell phone 24-7. You can text or call him now.

_________________________________________________________

BEING CHARGED WITH MARIJUANA IS NOT A CONVICTION.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER ON HIS
PERSONAL CELL PHONE TODAY
FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540

____________________________________________________________

 

PENALTIES & SENTENCING FOR FIRST OFFENSE MARIJUANA CHARGES IN PA

Even a small amount of marijuana possession charge in Pennsylvania can have a terrible impact on your future. The ability to get a job, apply for colleges and even drive a car are all at stake when you are found guilty of possession of weed, or marijuana.

First Offense, Simple Marijuana Possession Penalties in Pennsylvania:

  • Under 30 grams: Misdemeanor, 30 days in prison, a $500 fine and an automatic six-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Over 30 grams: Misdemeanor, up to one year in prison and a $5,000 fine and an automatic six-month suspension of your driver’s license

Drug Paraphernalia – First Offense Penalties in Pennsylvania:

  • Possession or Sale: Misdemeanor, up to one year in jail, maximum fine of $2,500. NO LICENSE SUSPENSION.

Cultivation, Sale or Distribution of Marijuana in PA – Penalties & Sentencing:

If you are charged with Simple Possession of a Controlled Substance, this means that there was no intent to deliver the marijuana (cultivate/grow, share, sell or traffic).Simple Possession is typically considered a misdemeanor.

Depending on the amount of the drug and several other factors you may be charged with Possession with Intent to Deliver (PWID), which is usually a felony upon conviction and comes with severe penalties and fines.

You have been charged with PWID if you have been charged with any of the following:

Any Possession with the Intent to Deliver AND a possession of a firearm is a mandatory five to ten year prison sentence, if convicted.

First Offense, Sale or Distribution of Marijuana Penalties:

  • 30 grams or less: Misdemeanor, up to 30 days in jail and a maximum $500 fine.
  • 2-10 pounds: Felony, one year minimum in prison and a maximum $5,000 fine.
  • 10-50 pounds: Felony, three years minimum in prison and a maximum fine of $25,000.
  • Less than 1,000 pounds: Felony, five years in prison and a maximum fine of $25,000.
  • More than 1,000 pounds: Felony, ten years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000.

If convicted of any offense involving the possession, cultivation, sale, or delivery/distribution of any form of marijuana, PennDOT will automatically suspend your driving privileges for at least six months.

PLEASE NOTE: Penalties are more severe if this is a second or subsequent offense, or if you are found with drugs in a school zone, selling drugs to a minor or carrying a lethal weapon.

If you have been charged with any drug crime in Pennsylvania, contact Pittsburgh Drug Attorney David Shrager today for a free consultation.

Attorney Shrager is available on his personal cell phone 24-7. You can text or call him now.

_________________________________________________________

BEING CHARGED WITH MARIJUANA IS NOT A CONVICTION.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER ON HIS
PERSONAL CELL PHONE TODAY
FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540

____________________________________________________________

 

HOW SHRAGER DEFENSE ATTORNEYS CAN HELP

If you are a first time offender, you have more options in getting your charges reduced. Depending on the charges you face, paying an attorney to help fight your charges could be well worth the cost of your future.

In Pittsburgh and Allegheny County, first-time marijuana offenders are often eligible for conditional programs, such as the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD), Probation Without Verdict and Allegheny Service Institute (ASI), which all offer expungement as part of the plea bargain package.

However, you have to be eligible for these programs and recommended by the District Attorney to even apply.

Talking with an experienced Pittsburgh Drug Lawyer is the best way to find out if you are eligible for these types of programs. An aggressive attorney knows how to push for these types of programs.

Another option available that an aggressive attorney can push for is The Allegheny County Drug Court Program, which is a rehabilitative program that can shorten your sentencing.

DON’T BE SCARED; BE PREPARED

At Shrager Defense Attorneys, we know good people can get trapped in a terrifying legal system which threatens their personal liberty. We realize that this can be frustrating and that the penalties often do not justify the crime.

That is why we will fight aggressively for your rights. Having an aggressive legal defense is the best way to fight your charges. There are many different programs available for first time offenders and we will push hard to get your charges dropped or reduced.

Hiring an aggressive attorney to prepare your case can relieve a lot of stress and worry and help you understand the process you are up against. An attorney may seem like something you can’t afford, but the reality is that a criminal record could cost a lot more in the future.

That is why we do all we can to fight for your rights.

Attorney David J. Shrager is there for his clients 24/7 and you can call or text his personal cell phone if you have any questions about your case.

_________________________________________________________

BEING CHARGED WITH MARIJUANA IS NOT A CONVICTION.

CALL OR TEXT DAVID J. SHRAGER ON HIS
PERSONAL CELL PHONE TODAY
FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION: 412-969-2540

_______________________

FREE Legal Consultation

Call or Text 412-969-2540 right now for a FREE initial legal consultation. Speak directly with David J. Shrager 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Shrager Defense Attorneys in Pittsburgh, PA will attack your criminal charges in order to protect your good name. Have a sound and solid case prepared by David J. Shrager and his legal team so they can fight for your rights.